白皮书

Broadcom® 的企业 SONiC
概述

Broadcom® 的 Enterprise SONiC 是一款基于 Linux 的开源网络操作系统,可在商用硅片平台上运行。开源 SONiC 项目可在 GitHub (https://github.com/Azure/SONiC/wiki) 上找到。

目前,多家网络规模公司已将 Enterprise SONiC 用于数据中心结构部署,并拥有蓬勃发展的开发者社区和供应商生态系统。SONiC 的底层架构在 GitHub 上进行了描述 (https://github.com/Azure/SONiC/wiki/Architecture)。Enterprise SONiC 是一款基于开源 SONiC 的商业产品,具有丰富的功能和强化功能,适用于数据中心 leaf、主干和超级主干部署。Enterprise SONiC 支持基于 Broadcom StrataXGS® 系列硅片的 ODM 和 OEM 平台。

Enterprise SONiC 具有诸多优势,例如云性能、基于行业领先的商用芯片和基于标准的 IP-Clos 架构的简单性。它还通过具有编程 API 和可扩展的基于容器的架构的统一可管理性框架提供敏捷性。其开源基础和标准化生态系统为数据中心结构解决方案提供了强大的经济效益

客户使用案例

数据中心 L3 CLOS 覆盖用例(带有 VXLAN 和 BGP-EVPN)从 3.4.0 版本开始,企业 SONiC 还可以部署在企业或服务提供商中,用于需要覆盖来支持多租户的选定工作负载,例如 Hadoop。

在数据中心使用覆盖架构允许最终用户(网络管理员)将端点(服务器或虚拟机)放置在网络中的任何位置,并保持与同一逻辑第 2 层网络的连接,从而使虚拟拓扑与物理拓扑分离。这种分离允许以编程方式在每个租户级别配置数据中心网络。

覆盖网络通常支持服务器或虚拟机之间的第 2 层和第 3 层传输。它还支持更大规模。SONiC 覆盖网络使用控制平面协议 (BGP-EVPN) 来促进端点信息的学习和共享,并使用 VXLAN 隧道协议为覆盖层创建数据平面。

  • 下载
  • 下载 107
  • 文件大小 894 千字节

White Paper

Enterprise SONiC by Broadcom®
Overview

Enterprise SONiC by Broadcom® is an open source network operating system based on Linux that runs on merchant silicon-based platforms. The open source SONiC project is available at GitHub (https://github.com/Azure/SONiC/wiki).

Enterprise SONiC is in production today at multiple web-scale companies for Data Center fabric deployments and has a thriving developer community and vendor ecosystem. The underlying architecture of SONiC is described at GitHub (https://github.com/Azure/SONiC/wiki/Architecture). Enterprise SONiC is a commercial offering based on open source SONiC with feature enrichment and hardening that is targeted at Data Center leaf, spine, and super-spine deployments. Enterprise SONiC supports ODM and OEM platforms based on the StrataXGS® family of silicon from Broadcom.

Enterprise SONiC offers benefits such as cloud performance, simplicity based on industry leading merchant-silicon and standards based IP-Clos architecture. It also provides agility driven by a Unified Manageability Framework with programmatic APIs and an extensible, container-based architecture. Its open source foundation and standardized ecosystem provide strong economic benefits for a Data Center fabric solution.

Customer Use Cases

Data Center L3 CLOS Overlay Use Case (with VXLAN and BGP-EVPN) Starting with the 3.4.0 release, Enterprise SONiC can also be deployed in enterprises or service providers for select workloads, such as Hadoop, that require an overlay to support multi-tenancy.

Using an overlay architecture in the data center allows end users (network administrators) to place endpoints (servers or virtual machines) anywhere in the network and remain connected to the same logical Layer 2 network, enabling the virtual topology to be decoupled from the physical topology. This decoupling allows the data center network to be programmatically provisioned at a per-tenant level.

Overlay networking generally supports both Layer 2 and Layer 3 transport between servers or VMs. It also supports a much larger scale. SONiC overlay networks use a control-plane protocol (BGP-EVPN) to facilitate learning and sharing of endpoint information, and use VXLAN tunneling protocol to create the data plane for the overlay layer.

  • Download
  • Download 107
  • File Size 894 KB